Flume

Radd: Do you prefer doing the big festivals or smaller, more intimate gigs like XOYO?

Flume: I like a combo of the two, I do like the smaller gigs but also I haven’t really played any of the summer festivals in Europe yet so it’ll be interesting to see. I’ve heard a lot about this festival in Corsica, Calvi on the Rocks, people see that on the tour and lots of people seem to be talking about it.

Radd: When you go into a festival set is it all pre-planned or do you just rock it?

Flume: The thing is now that we’ve got a whole bunch of visuals it’s more rigid, for each track we’ve created it’s own visual. I can essentially play whatever tracks I want but usually for a festival I have a stronger idea of what I’m going to play, if it’s a club thing or a smaller thing I’ll mix it up a lot more and have a lot more freedom.

Radd: So your career started back in Sydney, did you ever imagine you were going to be traveling the world and playing sell out shows?

Flume: I always knew what I wanted to do; I knew it would happen eventually I just didn’t know how long it would take. It was always my thing and I’ve put a lot of time into it, I didn’t expect it to happen so quick but I’m super stoked it has. It was always my goal in life to make a comfortable living off doing this stuff. I didn’t know when it would come, but I knew I was just going to keep hacking at it.

Radd: Who spotted your talent initially, was it your mum? Who knew you were an obsessive kid with music?

Flume: Both my parents, I discovered the whole music production thing and even ditched video games sometimes to do music. It’s something I’ve always been into. Lots of hours but it’s always been fun. People always say “Oh you’ve worked so hard to get where you are”, but I haven’t fucking worked, I would have been doing it regardless; it’s a hobby, it’s a fun thing.

Radd: You’ve got a lot of boys in Australia that are doing a lot of good things, like Ta-Ku and Chet Faker. Do you roll together or do you all do your own thing?

Flume: We’re a pretty tight knit kind of crew. It’s funny cause Chet Faker’s from Melbourne, Ta-ku’s from Perth and I’m from Sydney, so we’re all pretty far away from each other. Chet Faker’s sung on tracks by Ta-Ku; he’s sung on Flume tracks; I’ve re-mixed Ta-ku I’ve remixed Chet Faker; Ta-ku’s remixed me. We all help each other and say we need help on a track, we just send it to each other and vibe off each other. We try and push each other’s music as much as possible. It’s good to have a bit of a network. In Australia, there is a growing scene, but because we’re all from Australia and it is quite far away from everything else it’s cool to have a bit of a crew you can do stuff with on an international level.

Radd: Do you think the Australian sound is pushing the boundaries at the moment? Do you think you’re in a strong position for the global scene for electronic music?

Flume: I don’t really know whether there is an Australian sound. These days I think it’s so hard to pinpoint a sound to a specific place with the Internet. A lot of my influences are from artists from all over the world. It’s not like back in the day when like Detroit techno started or something like that.

Radd: So who are some of the people that influence your music?

Flume: There are definitely some people that influence me. I really like the new Foals record, Holy Fire, I’ve recently re-discovered Thundercat and I’m really into that – just bits and pieces here and there. I download a lot of individual tracks, there’s a dude called Koreless I’ve been listening to a bit.

Radd: That’s a nice diverse mix. Does music have a time and a place for you, like an indie jam in the morning and something electronic when you’re getting ready to go out?

Flume: I have my sex playlist, that’s just pure Shlomo! There’s a time and a place for Shlomo and that is it.

Radd: Do you think record labels aren’t as necessary as they used to be?

Flume: Yeah you can get a lot of reach from things like Soundcloud, for me that’s a huge one. The amount of exposure I get from that which is essentially a free service is enormous. Then you’ve get Facebook and Twitter. What I find really interesting is, and I’m not going to name any names, but there are some artists whose music isn’t that great but they’re amazing at social media and they’re funny and they get these big festival slots.

Radd: That’s not right to me.

Flume: Yeah it’s a bit warped, but I guess what I’m trying to say is that’s the power of social media. That’s not a record label that’s just them and if you’re good at social media these days then you can do that. Obviously record labels are a little less important in that sense but I think it’s still important to have the right label to put you in the right place with the right people.

Radd: What are your plans for the rest of the year?

Flume: Well I’ve been doing a lot of music with Chet Faker, we just work super well as a team. Everything that he’s good at, I’m really bad at and vice-versa so we compliment each other’s strengths and weaknesses. We both like to write really fast. We only had a few days away together to write music, like 4 or 5 days and we’ve already made 4 tracks – and they’re good tracks. We’re going to put out an EP later in the year. I’m also going to America, I’m touring New Zealand and then I’ll go home and chill out and make some more music.

Radd: You don’t wanna just be the hype kid that blew up from 2013? You wanna be timeless?

Flume: Everyone does. I mean, you look at people like FlyLo with his album Cosmogramma: it’s a progression. I just don’t want to do the one thing.

Radd: Is that something you’re conscious of when you’re writing tunes? Do you think this is dope and contemporary but is it still going to be in several years?

Flume: No, I don’t. Especially if it’s just a track I just write whatever I feel. If it’s for a record maybe I’ll want them to be really punchy and punch through, some you want a timeless quality that you’ll love.

Radd: How do you pick a tune that you’ll remix, is it organic?

Flume: As a producer I wanna make the best thing I can and sometime you’ll hear a song and think that’s fucking sick, but I know here it could be bigger. It’s not necessarily always better but it’s what I want to hear. If I really like a track I’ll remix it but if I really really love it then I won’t touch it, I don’t wanna fuck with it. If I feel like I can enhance a track or take it in another direction that’s when I’ll jump on it.

Radd: How do you want to be remembered in say 10-15 years?

Flume: I want to have my own sound and I want that to have significance and influence. I feel like I’m in a position now where I could write an album that was all the same and it probably would do reasonably well and it would be a safe move but I kind of want to move on and innovate my sound. I am really glad I have this sound but I don’t want it to be stale or just known for one thing. I want to progress.

 

 

 

